Mindfulness and the doula

From Monday night through to Tuesday night I was very privileged to support a wonderful young woman during the birth of her first baby. I spent several hours with her over the course of her labour, simply noting the passing of time but not dwelling on it. I had sorted out childcare for my own children thanks to my very supportive mother, so I was able to just be completely ‘in the moment’ with my client. To be completely with a woman during her birth, I need to be able to park my own life and the hundreds of unfinished things on my ‘to do’ list for the duration of my time with her. Mindfulness, for me as a doula, helps me to stay in the moment and pay attention to what is happening without judgement. Just be anchored in the moment, supporting the woman I’m with, for as long as that needs to be. 

Hannah 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

