Flying by the seat of your pants

Just looking through my diary and sorting out cover for NCT sessions as I’m going ‘on call’ soon as a back up doula for a friend and colleague. Although I use the calender on my phone, I still prefer my paper diary for scribbling in, but looking at all the things written in it for the next few weeks in the run up to Christmas is making me feel slightly overwhelmed. As well as my work facilitating antenatal courses for the NCT, hosting a monthly homebirth support group, volunteering for my local NCT branch, sitting on the Birth Voices MSLC, moderating branch Facebook groups and twitter feeds, I have three very busy children to sort out ranging in age from 6 to 14 and a dog that always needs walking. Then on top of all that throw in the life of a doula when she’s on call 24/7, and you have a serious need for a tremendous ability to juggle whilst simultaneously spinning plates…

My way of dealing with all this is to not think too much about it, stick to the theory that everything will work out fine in the end, perhaps a slightly risky attitude to have, but this ‘flying by the seat of my pants’ approach seems to be going ok so far… fingers crossed.

Hannah 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

