Time marches on

This morning I dropped my 10 year old daughter off at the gates of a local secondary school for her ‘taster morning’. She’d seen some friends and was eager to join them; I watched as she hurried along to catch them up, her ponytail bouncing excitedly as she went. The end of another chapter of her life is approaching and I wonder where the years have vanished to. My memories of holding her as a warm, slippery just born creature seem as vivid as the moment itself. But now I see my daughter as she stands on the cusp between childhood and adolescence, intrepidly waiting to leap into her unknown future with a faith that children naturally seem to possess. I watch her with a mixture of awe and longing. I’m so very honoured to be part of her life.

Hannah 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

