Being a doula and being a mum.

When I decided to become a doula, my greatest concern was how this would impact on the needs of my own family.  When I had my children, I made a conscious decision not to return to work so I could be around for them.  Being able to attend school plays, assemblies and help out on the occasional school trips is a privilege where I see my sons and daughter in a different environment.  I enjoy watching them interact with other adults and children and behave differently from the way they are at home.

Being a doula means that I am on call for 4 weeks around the mother’s due date.  During this time, my priority becomes the couple I am supporting and all other needs come second.  I have to keep my phone on at all time and be prepared to leave at a moment’s notice.  I also have to have to be organised and have food ready and friends on stand-by to take care of my family if I am attending a birth. 

So why did I chose to become a doula despite its impact on my family?  Because supporting couples in that special time makes me happy and fulfill my vocation.  I know deep down what the presence of a doula brings to make this experience positive and fulfilling for both parents. I also know that having found my true calling has helped me feel more settled and content with my life.

More than anything, I am proud that my three children grow up in an environment where birth is seen as a special, exciting moment and not as a painful ordeal.  My 11 year old son probably knows more about useful positions in labour than I did while I was pregnant with him.  This makes me happy and I know that, from this knowledge, generations of babies will be born in a supportive and positive environment.   I also like the fact that my daughter, aged 7, understand that what she sees on the TV is not the only way a baby can be born and my work as a doula has helped her see the variety and beauty of birth experiences.

So, I am not neglecting the organisational impact of my work, but I know that it is a small price me and my family pay to ensure birth is, once again, perceived as the natural, beautiful process that it is.

Steph 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

